Monroeville Literary Festival

The Monroeville Literary Festival is two days of fun, food, and literary arts in the Literary Capital of Alabama. Born in 2020 from the 22 year heritage of the Alabama Writers Symposium, the Monroeville Literary Festival is a community event that welcomes friends, old and new, to explore the writing, music, and art of the literary South. The Festival brings together many of Alabama's most distinguished writers and scholars for two days of readings, lectures, and discussions in the Literary Capital of Alabama.

The presentations of the Alabama Literary Awards is a highlight of the Monroeville Literary Festival. The recipient of the Harper Lee Award (named after the author of the classic novel To Kill a Mockingbird) is selected through a process coordinated by the Alabama Writers' Forum, a statewide literary arts organization funded by the Alabama State Council on the Arts. The recipient of the Eugene Current- Garcia Award is selected by the Association of College Teachers of Alabama (ACETA), a diverse organization representing faculty at all of Alabama's two-year, four-year, and doctoral institutions. Both awards are funded by the generous sponsorship of Mr. George F. Landegger. The Truman Capote Prize for Alabama's Distinguished Writer of Literary Non-Fiction or the Short Story is awarded by a selection committee chaired by Dr. Don Noble of Tuscaloosa. This award is made possible by the generous sponsorship of Ms. Dianne Lawson Baker.

Past winners list includes esteemed Alabama authors such as Rick Bragg, Mark Childress, Fannie Flagg, and Winston Groom.